subtlety is not an option

I am not the sort of person who plays politics well, or holds her opinions to herself.  To be terrifically blunt, I’m happy to be who I am and say what I think.  If I find myself in a position where it would be unwise for me to tell off, say, a relative or an employer, you can bet that my rage is going to be vented to a friend or my husband as soon as possible.

I am not subdued, not in the least.

I am the sort of person who has Funko Pops on her desk at work.  I write in colored ink and keep bright Post-It notes.  I work within the system to make things as personalized as possible.  My mug of the moment is this fabulous one with all sorts of Edgar Allan Poe quotations on it.  That screams professionalism in a financial workplace, right?

I do take advantage of the fact that I work a behind-the-scenes job to justify having quirks.  But you know what?  My Harley Quinn Pop makes me happy.

12797823_210015969355401_74558249_n
This is a sneaky photo of my desk intending to appear as though I was not taking pictures at work.  Look how clean it was!

The explosion of color in my work space is poorly represented by the above photograph.  I have another Pop on that desk, not to mention things pinned up on the cubicle walls, and so many more Post-Its than are pictured.  I’ve even got a silver Hot Wheels car bequeathed to me by a former co-worker.  There’s a bottle of purple paperclips, citrus lotion, and of course my mug-of-the-moment on a Ravenclaw coaster.  Even in the most constrained of settings I let my colors shine… and you should see our apartment!  My poor husband has no say.

I dress the way I want to as well.  I know I’m not fashionable.  Believe me, I know.  Sometimes, that is a source of grief, but other times… who cares?  I dress in what I like.  I can’t wear my graphic tees and more fashionably questionable tops to work anymore due to “professionalism concerns,” but you know what?  I rebel in other ways.  Like my nail polish and Jamberry.

12328477_448469965351654_596396124_n
January’s Jam – this was a charity wrap, so pretty.  I’m holding my Alice in Wonderland teacup over my Macbook Air because I’m classy like that.

I also wear huge, geeky earrings sometimes and I don’t generally wear makeup but when I do, the lipstick is bright red.  Like Marilyn Monroe red.  And I love it.

I do have a point here, and that point is this:  I refused to be muted in my workplace or home or out in public because I am not a doll.  I am not here to be made up according to society’s fashion, beliefs, or desires.  I am a complicated, weird person, and I love that about myself.

So maybe I don’t fit in.

So maybe I have no fashion sense.

I say what I believe, because I don’t believe in pretending to be somebody I am not.  I wear the clothes I like, listen to the music I want because it makes me happy.  I collect Disney and watch Star Wars and write novels-never-to-be-published because they are things I want to do… and did, even before any of these things were vaguely fashionable.  I do not conform and I will not be reduced to shades of grey because I am imperfect in someone else’s eyes.

Perfection is overrated.

It’s better to be a classy person than a well-dressed puppet.  So let your personality shine.

(Please note that if you are trying to advance in your career, or impress somebody, or do anything other than “be happy”, the above is actually horrible advice unless you are fashionable, extraordinarily polite, or quite wealthy.)

Subdued.” – Daily Post Prompt, Oct. 15, 2016

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

Leave a Reply

