artificial happiness

I am the type of person who dwells on the things that make me unhappy, then pretends she’s fine, then blows up at someone later or starts calling out of social situations sick.  Despite how petty my concerns may be, paling in comparison to those who are starving, cold, or in pain… they still bother me.  But I know that my sadness is not socially acceptable.  I have to pick up my skirts and lift my chin and be a grownup.

Ugh.

The truth is, I like most others display a social phenomenon called “artificial happiness”.  These emotions are skin deep, but they are sufficient enough that we avoid reflecting our problems on to the lives of others.  Liked any delicious mixed drink, the reasoning for this is three parts guilt and two part self-destruction.  We see either the happiness or unhappiness of the people around us and we don’t wish to add our problems to theirs, or ruin whatever good thing they have going on.  Besides, what would it help?

So we go along our merry way, smiling like trained monkeys while our insides rot.

Artificial.” – Daily Post, Oct. 23, 2016

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

3 thoughts on “artificial happiness

  1. I’m not normally one to take comfort in inspirational quotes and what have you, but whenever I fall into the “I have no right to be sad, other people are actually suffering” mindset, it does good to remember this little line: “Saying you can’t be sad because some people have it worse is like saying you can’t be happy because some people have it better.”

    Sometimes it’s all right to be a little miserable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

