bermuda <3

I wish I had more time and money for travel.

As a child, our vacations were limited to (mostly) the White Mountains with two miraculous excursions to Disney World in Florida (thanks Poppa!).  Once I was All Grown Up and decided I needed a vacation of my own, Matthew and I decided to really change it up and go rogue… and we went to Disney World.

11530_4916182225500_1569776731_n
I like Disney World… there’s a reason it’s the happiest place on Earth!

That vacation is a whole other rant.  There was a lotta love/hate going on, largely related to heat exhaustion and totalling my car the day before we flew down.  Yay.  But another story altogether.

Other notable vacation themes have been way up in remote Maine, and a staycation at home.

Then, there was our honeymoon.

The honeymoon was a complicated choice.  Back in the 1800s, a newly married couple had a wonderful honeymoon where they’d spend a year travelling to all the big cities in the world – Paris, London, Italy, etc. etc – but in modernity, most people put off their honeymoons in preference to their careers or family.  The common theme for my friends who’ve tied the knot has been to rent a cabin up in Maine for a couple days and relax.  Kudos to all who like that sort of thing, but I wanted to do something I may not get another opportunity to do (but it had to be affordable… because we only had about $1000 to spend for the entirely).  So we took a cruise from NYC to Bermuda.

This was exciting for multiple reasons:

  1. I had never been to NYC.
  2. I had never been on a cruise.
  3. I had never been to the Caribbean.
  4. I had never left the country.
  5. I didn’t need to worry about planning and budgeting food – because they provide it all.
  6. I didn’t need to worry about planning activities, because they provided it all.
  7. We got a room with a balcony overlooking the water, and love.

To this day, I am still a superfan of  cruises and would love to go on another one.  I love sailing, no matter the size of the vessel.

Bermuda, though.

The first thing that I knew I wanted to do in Bermuda was not touristy stuff. Because people love to go to the Caribbean for beaches and jet skis and rum… but I love culture.  I didn’t get to see as much as I wanted to (I am so out of shape.  Plus heat exhaustion again.  Why do I keep going south?), but what we did see was stunning.

We went up to St. George the first day, because I figured if we didn’t do it then, we never would.  As the historical section of the island, St. George is filled with stone buildings and a simple, hardworking vibe.  With the bright, hot Caribbean sun overhead, we discovered three different things that I loved.

The first?

Rose Dale

20150909 - Bermuda, Wednesday_38

We discovered Rose Dale completely on accident.  It’s a beautiful old stone ruin of a house, abandoned what looks to be many years ago.  There’s no story behind it that I know of, no haunted house or personal tragedy… just the name, which I only know from the pillar standing in front of the house.  I imagine it was build with the intent to be a great manor – now it’s sandwiched between two houses and looks like it hasn’t been touched in years.

I very much wanted to go in and explore the ruins, but without any reference to their condition (plus trespassing…) it seemed wiser to admire from afar.

I love, in particular, those balconies.

The Unfinished Church

20150909 - Bermuda, Wednesday_45

This beautiful stone building was built in the late 1800s, then left unfinished due to squabbles and funds.  Far too many lovely buildings are abandoned that way.

This was a touristy site, and as such, it was exceptionally difficult for me to get the types of pictures I wanted.  Photography is one of my favorite things to do when I’m bored, when I’m somewhere interesting, or when there’s a camera nearby.  Still, the ruins of the half-built church are really lovely, designed in Gothic style with care and attention.  People are not allowed inside, but I was able to peek through the windows.

20150909 - Bermuda, Wednesday_50

If you think that the lovely, plush palms dusting the outside walls were exquisite, I would argue and say that the columns and early-stage decorative stonework on the interior was much prettier.  But that’s personal option.

I am a sucker for old buildings.

Somer’s Garden

20150909 - Bermuda, Wednesday_55

We found the garden accidentally, and it wasn’t until we were back in the States and I was reviewing my photographs that I realized where we were.  I’m a bit disappointed in myself for not noticing.  At the time, I was very focused on finding a bathroom (success!) and something cold to drink.

The garden was very pretty and well manicured.  There was a bright and beautiful assortment of flowers and a lazy hot wind.  A lovely stone path was laid out, which we wandered, and several of Bermuda’s trademark “kissing arches” were scattered about.

20150909 - Bermuda, Wednesday_58 20150909 - Bermuda, Wednesday_57

All in all, we did not take proper advantage of our time on the island and I regret missing out on the rainforest hike I wanted to take, as well as the local pub food.  We’ll have to go back, I suppose.

Bermuda is the furthest I’ve ever traveled, and I genuinely hope it’s not the furthest I will ever travel.  It was a stunningly beautiful place filled with little treasures and secrets (I have only shown the first half of the first day… and I did not even bring my camera on the second day!).

Never neglect the beauty of nature and the stunning display of culture any place has to offer, near or far.  We took our honeymoon in September 2015, and my heart yearns to travel somewhere new.

Matthew has promised that if money allows, it is safe to travel, and we are unable to conceive again by spring of 2018, we can go to Paris.  Or Dublin.  Or anywhere I want.  Hands down, I’d rather have a baby… but maybe someday….

20150909 - Bermuda, Wednesday_100

“Describe the coolest thing you’ve seen in another country.” – Plinky Prompt, January 26, 2009

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

Leave a Reply

