tomorrow

A brief post, totally promptless, but something I want to put out there.

I am genuinely scared for the results of tomorrow’s vote.  Lets move past the individual candidates, whom I think most of us can agree are both horrible choices… and move towards the American public.

I am afraid of the violence the vote is going to cause this year.

We’ve awakened a strange hive of people, people without limits, trying to push their beliefs on others.  Elections are always messy, but this one is something more.  We’ve all seen the headlines, and we’ve all felt the anger in our own friends and family.  I went to a very tense family party this weekend, with all of us waiting to see if our two most political relatives – both on opposite sides – would wage open war.  They nearly did, once or twice, but thank goodness for the children whose presence kept discussions brief.

I think that regardless of the winner, there are going to be riots.

I think that regardless of the winner, someone is going to die or be grievously injured at a political rally or peace protest gone awry.

I hope I’m wrong, but….

Putting aside the candidates – their personalities, their history, their beliefs and platforms.  Putting aside the fear of the future based on either one… am I the only person afraid for the violence and destruction the people may cause tomorrow and the day after?

There.

Just wanted to get that off my chest.

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

Leave a Reply

