making cookies

One of the most common things I tell myself I’m going to do in a day is make cookies.  I swear, it comes into my head at least once a day:  “Hmm, maybe I’ll make cookies when I get home from work today.”  Of course, it never happens.  I blame this largely upon the fact that I have now officially reached vampire status where it is dark when I go into work, and dark when I get out of work.  I don’t see the sun except through windows, and I swear the last time I walked in a beam of sunlight, my skin sizzled just a smidge.  So in light of all that, it’s a struggle to do basic, useful things like shower or eat dinner… the cookies never happen.

I also encouragingly promise myself that I’m going to make cookies this weekend.  You know which ones I have my heart set on at the moment?  Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal cookies.  I don’t even have a recipe for them.  I’m going to find an oatmeal cookie recipe and replace the butter with peanut butter and add the chocolate chips.  Alakazam!  But I don’t know what weekend that could happen, either.  You see, this Saturday I’m going to Nashua for a girl’s day out, and next weekend is all Thanksgivingy, and the one after that is car repairs, and the one after that is another dinner with my mother-in-law… so maybe the one after that?  I think I’m free the weekend before Christmas, but I’m not sure.  Every little thing ends up taking the whole day Saturday, then on Sunday I get to run around trying to make my house look less like an apocalyptic hovel and more like a slightly respectable home for two married people.  You know, adulting.  So cookies don’t seem to happen on the weekends either.

It’s a shame, too, because I got all these cookie cutters and even little tart cutters as wedding presents and I’ve not used them once.

Oh well.

In light of all that… I wanted to share the recipe for my absolute favorite cookie.  My brother and I have been making these since we were little kids.  They’re easy, but can be a lot of work.  There’s not a lot of sugar in them, so it’s vitally important to roll them in powdered sugar afterward, but you can’t do it when they’re too hot.

Anyways, they’re delicious, and without further ado: Mexican Wedding Cookies

Mexican Wedding Cookies

  • Servings: 48 cookies
  • Time: 35+
  • Print

Ingredients


2 c. butter
2/3 c. powdered sugar (plus more for coating)
2 tsp. vanilla
4 c. flour
1 bag miniature chocolate chips

Directions


Preheat oven to 325F.

Mix butter until softened. Add powdered sugar and vanilla. Mix thoroughly. Add flour and mix until smooth. Add miniature chocolate chips and mix until well combined.

Roll cookie dough into 1” balls and place on a greased cookie sheet about 1” apart. Bake for 20 minutes.

Allow to cool for 10 minutes, or until cool to touch. Roll in additional powdered sugar until fully coated. Store covered at room temperature.


. . .

Tart.”

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

2 thoughts on “making cookies

Leave a Reply

