Myth & Human History

I spend a lot of time listening to Audible.  About four hours every weekday, more if I really like the book.  I listen to the New York Times in the morning, and fiction all the rest of the day.  A few months ago, I nabbed one of the Great Courses, because I am interested in learning things and if someone would just pay me to go to school, take notes and learn things forever, that’s basically my dream job.  I got a theology course called “The Origins of Evil” which was pretty good, but I quickly found that it wasn’t a good solution while driving, and I begrudgingly returned it.

Yet, the idea of these audio courses has stuck.  I don’t have the time to go back to school, and I don’t want to take out so many loans to do it.  My brother just got accepted into grad school – he’s going for clinical psychology, which is a far cry from the BA he has in Film & Video Production.  I’m envious of him, but at the same time, I’m also adamant in my decision.  Fact of the matter is, I’m already 27, and I want a house someday, and kids, and I just don’t feel confident enough in the universe to stop what I’m doing and start earning a graduate’s degree.  I wish I could!  I know online school is an option and a few months ago I was very, very close to enrolling… but I’d want a Masters in Education and that requires a practicum and I just can’t justify quitting my job for that.  I wish I could, but I have too many dreams and not enough time or money.

I refuse to stop learning, however.

So yesterday, in a fit of madness, I purchased a different audio course: Myth in Human History.  It was great fun to pick it out – I have all these audio courses I’ve stuck on my wishlist and choosing which one I was going to take was a flashback to sitting at the library computer going through the course catalog and wanting to learn everything.  I chose this course because I’ve always been deeply interested in mythology both as a historian and a storyteller.  Side note:  I know it’s super pretentious and mostly inaccurate, but I love referring to myself as a historian.  I listened to the introductory course last night and thought it was really interesting.  I took a lot of notes and answered the questions and was quite pleased with myself.

At the end of the day, it’s sort of strange to be reaching out and doing this work for my own enjoyment, but I simply refuse to become just another drudge in a corporate world.  There’s no grades, no achievement, but it’s so cool that this knowledge is out there and accessible to us, and I refuse to not take advantage of that luxury.

. . .

Mythical.”

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

Leave a Reply

