boo-hoo

Some days, I wake up and just feel like garbage.  Take today, for example.  My ears are ringing, I’ve got a tension headache, my eyes are sticky and heavy, my teeth hurt, my head is too heavy for my neck – et cetera, et cetera.  In short, boo-hoo, I don’t feel well and I’m darned determined to be cranky about it.

It is a delightful luxury in a first world country that we can sit down with a fleece blanket wrapped around our shoulders, pout, and talk about all the stuff that we don’t like.  I personally consider myself an A-class complaining champion, a trait I get from my mother’s side of the family.  I’m a huge advocate of “leave me alone” when I’m not feeling well, but there’s always “misery loves company” as a last resort.

It all started this morning when I opened the cupboard and realized I didn’t have any honey.  This seems like a stupid little thing, but I am always inadequately prepared for the change of seasons.  No honey, no lemon, no peppermint, and so I am treating my poor, sad, sore throat with a flagon of water.  Yes, a flagon.  We got these delightful mugs at the comic cons we attended this summer, and… yes, well, anyway… water is the best I have until we go grocery shopping after work.

It can be incredibly frustrating when you know what you need, and it’s so close, but a single obstacle stands in your way.

So we fight on.  We endure.  We complain a little because it helps a little.  We push through the day because at the end of all things, this is just an inconvenience. C’est ca va, ca va.

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

Leave a Reply

