myers-briggs personality test

In high school, I took AP Psychology, a course which I picked up 10% because college credit, and 90% because it was a college-level psychology class and as a senior, I was intellectually bored.  One of the things I remember vividly from the course was personality analysis, an aspect of psychology that fascinates me endlessly.  At the time, the professor asked us to take a test and discuss our findings.  At the time, I was an ENFJ – Extroverted, Intuitive, Feeling, Judging.  I liked it – it told me I was a nice person who reasoned well and liked people.  Good enough for high school.

Going through my blogroll this morning, I came across Ida Auclond’s post “How to use Myers-Briggs to create life-like characters“.  Using Myers-Briggs in that way was something I had dallied with a long while ago, but it wasn’t the character development that caught my eye (although she makes an incredibly good argument for it and outlines her process well – definitely check out her post).  The website she references, 16Personalities, is one I haven’t come across before, and it’s immensely detailed.  Curiosity piqued, I took the test again for the first time in ten years.

The test is very basic.  There’s about 10 pages of basic questions on a slide Agree-Disagree scale.  You respond instinctively to each question – don’t over-analyse it, just go with your first impression.  Once you’ve finished your test, you get you result with an in-depth description of what it means, who else is like you, and how your personality type traditionally deals with certain situations (love, friendship, parenting, career).  It’s an interesting overview, although there are nuances within the description that don’t necessarily apply to me.  I found it insightful nonetheless… especially as I’ve grown up a little… I’m getting a different answer.

infj-personality-type-header

If you’re interested in giving the Myers-Briggs personality test a go, head over to 16Personalities.  And let me know what you got!

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

Leave a Reply

