Lifestyle Change #2: Yoga

I know I’ve mentioned my yoga a few times, and that’s because of how life-changing it’s already been for me.  I have never enjoyed anything that fell under the umbrella of “exercise”.  While I understand that exercise is essential to keep the body healthy, it all always seemed so futile and time consuming.  I always felt like crap afterwards, and sweaty, and disappointed.  From going to the gym to just taking a jog, I hated it.  Especially the gym.  Going to the gym has a special place in the dark void of loathing for me.  That is a whole discussion in itself.

But yoga.

I wanted something I could do at home, something that would make me feel better instead of worse.  Yoga has helped my headaches, my eternally pained shoulder, and my aching back.  I feel invigorated after a yoga session, and what’s better is that I can do just half an hour and it makes a difference.  I used to feel like an hour of the treadmill was insufficient.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to shed any pounds this way, but I feel great.

That is, when I follow through.

Take yesterday, for example.  Yesterday was rough.  It was an extra-long work day and the only thing in the world I wanted to do was go home and do half an hour of yoga.  My commute dragged longer than usual because I had to leave the office later than usual and by the time I got home, I had a headache.  I took a quick shower, played with my cat for a couple minutes, and went right to bed.  I was up maybe 45 minutes after I got home.  No yoga, not even dinner.  This morning, my headache is worse and I feel a bit nauseated, and my shoulders and back are stiff and sore.  In retrospect, I just know if I had re-prioritized, I would feel a bit better today, but now I have to live with the consequences.

I don’t want 2017 to be like that.  I want to make sure I’m eating better (and regularly) but even more than that, I want to make sure I’m doing yoga every night.  It’s such a small commitment, just half an hour.  I spend more time than that on my phone wasting time, I bet.  I’d rather be vigorously improving my health!

I use YouTube videos for my yoga practice and I quickly realized I kept coming across the same channel and that I really liked the routines she did.  It’s Yoga With Adrienne.  She is so down to earth and forgiving, and she offers things for people of all different levels.  I like her not only for her very chill and happy personality, but also because I immediately felt like I could do yoga with her.  I was trying another channel and almost immediately I was told I needed yoga blocks and a yoga strap and a yoga ball and no substitutes would do.  With Adrienne, all I need is me and a mat, and if she uses a special tool she also tells me what objects I can use from around my house as substitute.  Yay!

For the first month of 2017, she’s doing a “Yoga Revolution“.  It’s going to be 31 days of new videos every day, totally free (most her stuff is free and excellent, although she has a members area as well if you want to get real into it).  I’m so excited to jump on the bandwagon and do this with thousands of her other subscribers.  I’m choosing to look at doing this no further out than I full month.  What’s a month?  31 days of yoga, that’s not a big deal.  Then once I get through January, we’ll look at February.

In the meanwhile, well, I’m really looking forward to my yoga practice tonight, because I am so sore.

Does anyone else out there do yoga?  Any good advice?  Anything you like to do?  What’s your favorite stretch?  I’m a huge fan of cat-cow… it helps my back and shoulders so much!  I’d love to hear any really good advice on practicing yoga because I’m super lost, but loving it!


This is part two of four of the lifestyle changes I’m committing to making in 2017 to improve my happiness and quality of life.  Yesterday I talked about how I want to have a baby in the coming year… in the next two days I’ll talk about improving my financial security and savings, and then how I want to be more creative!

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

One thought on “Lifestyle Change #2: Yoga

Leave a Reply

