Yesterday

I am hooked on the Women’s March.

I don’t care where you marched.  I don’t care if you marched physically or marched in spirit.  I just want to say thank you.

I’ve been browsing today and looking at the reactions.  Most are elated, empowered, invigorated.  The others remind me of an elementary school playground.  It’s like running a race with a peer, and when you beat them, they call your mother a whore.  Classy.

At first, I was a bit aggravated by the naysayers, but retrospectively, it’s important that these “alternate truths” are all they have to offer.  Why?  Because that means the marches were successful.  They can’t disprove the numbers.  They can’t erase the heart and the passion.  The protest was noticed worldwide and that is a beginning.  That is something to be proud of.

170121143229-womens-march-london-0121-exlarge-169

gettyimages-6322965181

womens-march-700x467

What next?

Next, we have to retain the bonds of solidarity.  It’s not about he said, she said.  It’s about truth and justice.  It’s about unity.  Freedom.  The rights of all, despite gender, race, religion, social status, location, occupation, or state of mental and physical health.  It is about continuing to recognize “human” as a universal standard and assure that all have the same treatment and access.  It is well and good to stand up for one day. Are you prepared to stand up for four years?  Are you prepared to be beaten down with hateful words, to be boxed in by unjust legislation?  Are you prepared to be lied to, cheated, and abused?  I am.  I am, because even if I do not fight, that is the image of my future.  Fighting gives us a chance for change, for preservation of our rights and beliefs.

And they have noticed our anger.  They may be slinging false accusations and mean names, but in doing so they are acknowledging the threat.

Good.

Fight hard.  Stay strong.

 “Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.”

Dylan Thomas

Rage.

Rage against the dying of the light.

Then burn bright.

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

5 thoughts on “Yesterday

  1. You know what’s funny? I keep tabs on a number of Conservative news sites and the best they can come up with when they’re trying to throw mud on the marches is “Madonna threatened the White House!”

    Really, guys? Were the marches so good and peaceful that the only actions you can argue were by a known-to-be-iffy celebrity? That’s your top news story?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Frankly if I were them, I’d’ve ignored it. Basic schoolyard rules – to acknowledge a person’s actions, you give them power over you. But one cannot always be the bigger person, I guess. *shrug* Personally (you could probably tell from all my posting about it 🙂 ) I find the whole march *wonderful*. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

