Team Pride, Etc., Etc.

When I got to work this morning, I quickly took stock of the conversations and realised – nobody was talking about the election or the women’s march.  Why?!?  My mind raced, suddenly feeling betrayed by these people who have been my comrades in arms these last few months.  Then, I remembered… we’re in Patriots territory.

If you want to derail an entire blue state on the weekend of an election and an important political movement, tell them their football team is going to the Superbowl.

I’m not a sports person, but even I have to appreciate the overwhelming excitement and comradery that comes across people when their team wins.  I don’t know what it’s like across the country, but here in New England, the Patriots are a big deal.  Some people follow the Sox, others follow the Celtics, some follow the Bruins, but everyone follows the Patriots.  Remember “deflategate”?  New Englanders are still mad about that.  And if the Patriots pride wasn’t normally at a high, the enthusiasm just doubled.

Pats fans, congrats on your victory!

AFC Championship - Pittsburgh Steelers v New England Patriots

For myself, I’m looking forward to spending Superbowl weekend not watching football/commercials.

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

One thought on “Team Pride, Etc., Etc.

Leave a Reply

