A Bit of Hyperbole

I miss Allie Brosh.

For those unfamiliar, Allie Brosh was the mind behind the blog Hyperbole and a Half. Even though she hasn’t posted a thing in four years, and her second book just disappeared from my pre-order list and off the face of the earth, it’s worth a read if you aren’t familiar.

You are most likely, at the very least, familiar with some incarnation of the “Clean All the Things” image:

responsibility12alternate

I use the phrase “all the things” frequently.  I’m fairly certain it came from her.  She also convinced me to stop rebelling on the spelling of “a lot”.

I miss Allie Brosh because she made me feel… not alone.  She’s a hilarious writer and a gifted artist (don’t let the Microsoft Paint drawings fool you)… but what she does with her writing is tell stories of her life.  Her humanity.  Her “I’m just like you I don’t want to adult and my dogs are dumb but wonderful and I’m depressed” self.  Sometimes, that sort of blatant truth is exactly what a person needs to hear, even from a stranger.

Then, naturally, you become invested.  It’s the same reason we like celebrities.  We live through them, watching their lives to see their ups and downs with as much attention as we watch our own.  I watched Allie to see her overcome these struggles which felt all too familiar to myself.  And, even when she didn’t, I admired her strength to get up in the morning and make not only herself smile, but so many other people as well.  That’s a gift.

These days, she’s slipped off the blogosphere.  Off the internet-o-sphere as well.  Every once and a while you’ll find a thread or a blog post discussing one of two things about her: either (1) is she okay? or (2) I saw Allie at the thing and she’s alive and yay!  And that’s perfectly okay too.  She is first and foremost a human person and allowed to do as she wants.

Still…

I wouldn’t mind that new book that just got delayed… until 2030.

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

One thought on “A Bit of Hyperbole

Leave a Reply

