C’est une Omelette?

This morning, on a work day, no less, I am attempting to make an omelette.

These things usually go quite badly.  But I love omelettes!  Here is the current progress.

img_3952
It’s already threatening to fall to pieces, to plan its own demise… I’m sure of it.

I’ve got to be real with myself – the chances of success are quite low.  The odds are always against me in omelette-making.  I make tasty food, not pretty food!  But ah, to be sucessfull!

I’m dreaming of a world filled with cheese and bacon, where for a moment on a Friday morning, I can be deliriously happy with a chiefly breakfast.

Wish me luck!

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

4 thoughts on “C’est une Omelette?

  1. I was lucky to be taught how to make omelettes by a French lady when I was young. Use a pan that does not have a nonstick surface. Heat it until the butter foams but doesn’t burn. After adding the beaten eggs, tilt the pan, and pull the cooked edge towards the centre of the pan using a fork. Keep the eggs moving by tilting and pulling until the eggs are nearly but not quite cooked. She used the word “baveuse”. Then add the filling to the middle and tilt the pan for the last time rolling the cooked eggs over the top of the filling and the whole thing out onto a warmed plate. Always put a little water into the eggs before you beat them – about half an eggshell full for each two eggs – as the water evaporates and makes the eggs fluffy while cooking. Yes it takes practice but no it isn’t hard to do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My greatest failure has always been flipping the omelette… or putting in too many toppings. This is great advice, maybe I’ll try it out. 🙂

      Fortunately, breakfast came out perfectly this morning!

      Like

Leave a Reply

