Ten Years

Well, I received an invitation to go to my ten year high school reunion today.

Yup, that happened.  Ten years.

I’m starting to feel like a dinosaur here.

11cwjxab1jmpbo
Cera the “Threehorn” is my new spirit animal.

We were talking about ten year reunions the other day at work, actually.  One of my coworkers, Katie, is up for hers as well.  She was saying “I can’t believe it’s been ten years!” I said, “Hah, I didn’t even get invited to mine.”  So shame on me for jumping the gun, there.

I’ve thought about whether or not I would go to my ten year reunion for several years, now.  I think that mostly, my impression has been no.  A reunion can be a good time to reconnect with people you’ve lost, or to network, but I’ve always seen it as a reminder of the old social hierarchy.  Unless you’re wildly successful and have some bling to blaze, why bother?  Hollywood has certainly encouraged this frame of mind with movies like Central Intelligence and even episodes from some of my favorite television shows (the reunion episode of Psych comes to mind).

It’s enough to make a person nervous, seeing the old “high school crush” after you’ve been married for two years.  Seeing the friends you loved back then, but now…?  And of course hearing about how successful the entire student council now is (because obviously).

xt9kvxzidbjo7wcfjq

So after all the whining and moaning and wondering, I get to say, “Yes! I did manage to somehow get invited to my ten year high school reunion!” and also, “No way in hell am I going!”

Not just because of the awkwardness and my own personal lack of showmanship (I’m actually pretty okay where I am in life right now, thanks).

It’s because it’s Thanksgiving weekend.  That boggles my mind.  Why in the world would anyone want to travel out to middle-of-nowhere New Hampshire the day or two after Thanksgiving to see people you could talk to on Facebook?  Why?  Even beyond that my November is going to be crazy busy so… too bad, so sad.

I hope people have fun.

l2jjlshkqiibenlsw

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

Leave a Reply

