Weekly Tea Time for My Soul – 3/11/17

weekly teatime template

I know, I know.  I missed last week.  The excuse: too much work, not enough play.  This week was getting pretty close to that as well, but look at me!  Making time for stuff and things.

Last week was rough.  I worked overtime every day last week, and it was just a whole world of anxiety and exhausted.  That’s why I didn’t post anything!  Who needs that garbage in their lives?  Not I, for sure.  Here’s a quick view of the good things that happened last week:

IMG_3999
I had an excellent breakfast from a local restaurant.  Always a treat!
IMG_4001.JPG
It got up to almost 70-degrees a couple days during the week!
IMG_4002
It was so incredibly nice outside, we opened all the windows and aired out the apartment.  The cat was loving it!

There you are.  So lets move on to this week.

This Saturday I spent with Chris and Sarah (back to the usual schedule!).  Chris and Matt went to go see Logan in theatres.  Both of them really liked it, and were kind enough to share the new Deadpool trailer with me when they got home.  Mostly I watched Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallow Pt. 2 with Sarah and her toddler, because the little one is obsessed with Voldemort.  They made alfredo stuffed shells for dinner and it was good stuff.

Sunday was a little less exciting.  Frankly, I just felt like garbage on Sunday, so all I remember is ugghhhhhh and watching Sleepy Hollow.  Season Four is surprising me by being quite good.  Tom Mison is just wonderful, though.

Back into work on Monday, something I had been dreading given the mixed directions of responsibilities regarding my promotion.  I made myself take half a lunch and treated myself to a philly cheese steak from the deli next door, so that was nice.

Tuesday was supposed to be better, as days often are when my husband drives in.  Nope!  Tuesday I was running solo, and so I was crazy busy!  I stressed myself out, I stressed other people out, I worked 11 hours straight through.  It was just a lousy day.  Matt and I stopped at Texas Roadhouse on the way home (because I deserved it, dammit), and I was so sick to my stomach all I could eat was my baked potato and one of the rolls.  Not a good one.

Every week, I thank the powers that be for my work-from-home day.  It has moved to Wednesday, which is perfect for me, because it splits my week.  This week, my Wednesday was absolutely necessary.  I needed the sleep, I needed the slower pace.  Wednesday was wonderful compared to the previous two days and I was really able to refresh and rejuvenate myself.  Thank goodness.

Sarah wanted to swing by and drop something off, so we ended up having them stay for dinner.  It was tacos, which is one of the five things all six of us like.  It was all good fun – the kids watched Trolls and we all chatted.

On Thursday we had a potluck at work.  Even though I was still crazy busy, I enjoyed an incredible blueberry muffin from a local bakery, and melt-in-your-mouth pulled chicken. We have to take joy in the little things in life!

Friday was an adventure.  A winter storm moved in!  Remember that nearly 70-degree day last week?  So much for that.

IMG_4039
I thought we were done with this!

It snowed all day in where I work, although not much stuck.  However, when we drove to my mother-in-law’s house, the roads were covered in ice and snow and it was a bit terrifying going up the winding hills without any guard rails.  We made it, though!  And as far as snow goes, another nor’easter is on its way next week promising another foot of snow… so much for spring.

We ended up watching Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them with Matt’s parents and niece.  Our niece was not down to watch a movie at all, despite the root beer floats, chips and dip, and popcorn.  Primary desire:  jump on all the things.  Despite the fact that I was e-x-h-a-u-s-t-e-d (getting up at 3:00am and running straight until 11:00pm does that), it wasn’t an unpleasant visit.  The worst of it was the dogs (this is usually true).  They’re perfectly well-behaved dogs, but I’m incredibly allergic, and I recently had to switch my allergy meds, and they were not working as well as the old ones.  Oh well!

Today’s plans are sitting on the couch and feeling like garbage, chilling with my kitty, and then we have to go to my parents’ house later for dinner. At some point before then, I’ve got to make a carrot cake.  So a bit busy, and a bit sick, but still rumbling forward.

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

Leave a Reply

