A is for Anne #AtoZChallenge

1

I have recently been rereading one of my favorite books of all time, Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery.  It’s falls into one of my three favorite genres (or, at least, I think it does): classics.  For those who have not read the books, and have not seen the truly excellent miniseries from the 1980s… let me tell you about Anne Shirley.

Anne Shirley is the sweetest little girl you would ever meet.

She comes into the story as a bright, imaginative, chatty orphan girl.  Our very first impression of her is stranded at a train station and she immediately opens up the Matthew Cuthbert by telling him that if he had not come to get her, she had planned to spend the night sleeping in a tree, because wouldn’t it be romantic to sleep in a tree?  She is positively not what the Cuthbert bargained for, but she quickly talks her way into everybody’s hearts.

I think I’m more in love with the miniseries movies than I am with the books.  That almost never happens.  The language Montgomery uses in the novels is beautiful, lyrical, but Megan Fellows, who plays Anne in the miniseries, is nothing short of perfection.  It’s little wonder why so many people have been hesitant about the latest reboot.  Anne is sweet and kind and spontaneous and charming, and it is difficult to imagine anyone could play her with such sincerity and gentle spirit as has already been done.

The trailer to the latest Netflix reboot makes me cringe.  That is not my Anne.

Instead, I will leave you with one of my favorite scenes from the Canadian 1985 miniseries.  Yes, it includes the intolerable (Anne’s words!) Gilbert Blythe.

 


AThis post was written as part of the April A-Z Challenge.  For 26 days in the month of April (excluding Sundays), a post will be written for each letter of the alphabet.  April first is “A” and so I chose “Anne Shirley” as my topic.

Click here to see my other A-Z posts.

Click here for the “A” posts from other bloggers!

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

17 thoughts on “A is for Anne #AtoZChallenge

  1. I read Green Gables a long time ago. But, thanks to you, I’ll make sure I pick it up once again and read through the beautiful book. Since, I’m a total bookworm at heart, books are my first love 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Absolutely! I cannot fathom anyone hating books. I so would not like that. And you’re right. A slice of warm apple pie and a wonderful book to read…. ahhh, my weekend’s set 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I, shamefully, did not read the books until a few years ago for the first time, but I grew up with the miniseries like Anne was a bosom friend. I’m so glad I decided to read them – some of the things Anne says warm my heart. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Anne and although the books are great, I do find the 1985 miniseries (they were movies to me) much better than the book, because you can see the characters come alive and such great casting for Anne and Gilbert – doubt I would watch the reboot either.

    have a lovely day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I find that it reads like a series of short stories, making it so much easier to pick it up and put it back down again when you need. 🙂 I definitely recommend another try!

      Like

  3. I love Anne of Green Gables! I also fell in love with the story from the miniseries. I read the books a few years ago, and they are also fantastic. I am really hesitant about the reboot. Ever since they described it as “grittier” I’ve been cringing. I suspect they don’t know what it is about this story that people love so much. I haven’t seen the trailer, but from how you describe it I’m not sure I want to. I probably will eventually. Maybe. We’ll see. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The trailer is more of a preview, but the only adjectives I can find to describe the new Anne are “headstrong” and “petulant” from the glimpse we get of her. So disappointing (for me)….

      Like

Leave a Reply

