B is for Baking – #AtoZChallenge

1

I loved baked goods, but I’ve never been big on baking.  That’s not to say I’m bad at it (I’m actually told I’m quite good), but there are all the dishes and the flour that gets positively everywhere… and oh my goodness don’t even get me started on cornstarch.  Cornstarch may actually be my archnemesis.

The nice thing is, when I do get in a baking mood, my husband is such a good sport and we go in it together.  When I want cookies, he helps me roll them out.  When I want cake, he helps with the mixing.  When I get bored/sick/distracted in the middle of baking, he takes over.  Best of all, he always does the dishes for me.  I love my husband.

A couple weeks ago, I started making a carrot cake for my parents’ birthdays.  They were born on March 15th and March 16th, which is nice for us kids because we get to make them one conjoined dinner… and they love not having to cook for themselves.  This year, we had a full-on turkey dinner like Thanksgiving, and I was tasked with dessert.  Carrot cake was the obvious choice, as both of them love carrot cake.  I started grating the carrots.

Then, about halfway through the grating, I got sick.  Like, really really don’t-let-me-near-the-food sick.  Nothing to do with the food, mind you!  Just… my life.  My husband didn’t miss a beat.  After all, he had a stake in the carrot cake as well.  I’m a big fan of chocolate cake.  All. Day. Long.  Somehow, I got surrounded by all these carrot cake fans.  Go figure.   My husband whisked the carrots away from me quick as lightning, and had the cake done and frosted and beautiful a couple hours later.  His first ever cake!  I wish I took a picture.

Needless to say, the cake went over splendidly the next day.  So splendidly, in fact, that my parents dropped by the next weekend just to extol my husband again on the perfection of it.  I’m so proud of him.  We used a recipe from Inspired Taste, and it was incredible.  No really, it’s in the title:  “Incredibly Moist and Easy Carrot Cake“.

carrot-cake-recipe-3-1200
This photo comes from Inspired Taste.  Ours wasn’t nearly so pretty.  But it was delicious!

I’ve been feeling pretty consistently under the weather for the last few weeks – since that day, really – and haven’t been up to much baking.  That is, until Sunday morning!  I don’t know what it was, but I woke up bright eyed and bushy-tailed Sunday morning and I told myself, “I have been dying for Cuppa Cuppa Cuppa Cake for weeks and I’m going to make it now before I run outta juice.”  So I did.

Cuppa Cuppa Cuppa Cake is one of the easiest baked goods in the world.  I stumbled across the recipe a few years ago on The Pioneer Woman and I’ve been making it as a guilty pleasure every since.  There are five ingredients, and I absolutely always eat the whole thing myself.  If you like fruit and golden cakes, this is a must have.

If you have it with homemade whipped cream, that’s even better!

5954718766_3a452305ae_z
This picture is right from the Pioneer Woman.  Like the carrot cake, my Cuppa Cuppa Cuppa Cake is not as pretty as the professionals.  But so so good.

Check out Rae Drummond’s Cuppa Cuppa Cuppa Cake recipe over on The Pioneer Woman!


AThis post was written as part of the April A-Z Challenge.  For 26 days in the month of April (excluding Sundays), a post will be written for each letter of the alphabet.  April second is “B” and so I chose “Baking” as my topic.  Obviously, there’s a lot of possible ground to cover here, so I just went with my two most recent ventures.

Click here to see my other A-Z posts.

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

26 thoughts on “B is for Baking – #AtoZChallenge

  1. Haha! I hear ya! It does tend to get messy at times while baking but it is always, always so much fun! I love carrot cake too 😀 And chocolate and Red Velvet and …. well, the list goes on. The Cuppa Cuppa Cuppa Cake sounds lip-smacking 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww, that’s so sweet that your husband helps with baking! And, that’s also pretty cool that your parents have birthdays just one day apart from each other. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does make them easy to remember! My brother and I are six days apart, so I guess my family likes to stick together!

      My husband is seriously the best. ❤ I don't know what I'd do without him.

      Like

    1. Hmm… you know part of the burning things problem may be your oven. We had a lot of trouble we we first moved in, then my hubby finally had the great idea of getting an oven thermometer, and it turned out to be 25-degrees off! Now we adjust our cook temperatures and everything comes out much better!

      Like

  3. Baking is one of my favourite things to do in the whole world! My favourites to make are spiced pumpkin loaf, banana bread and brownies 🙂 Though carrot cake is delicious too!

    the cuppa cuppa cuppa cake sounds interesting! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a recipe like that before! I might have to add a tin of fruit cocktail to my next shopping list and give it a try.

    Believe In Fairy Stories: Theme – Folklore & Fairy Tales

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Baking–ugh! There’s always too many ingredients that have to be measured and there’s always tools needed that I don’t have. I recently had to make a pizza crust for one of my Blue Apron meals and I didn’t have a rolling pin. I used a wine bottle. I love eating the stuff, but not making it. I’m glad so many others enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

