D is for Dandelion – #AtoZChallenge

With the recent announcement of Crayola retiring their dandelion crayon, I’ve had dandelions on my mind.  Also, I’m stupidly annoyed with this because I don’t understand the need to retire perfectly good things.  Come on, guys, just start making more colors instead of getting rid of old ones!  I have similar feelings about Ben and Jerry’s choice to retire my favorite flavor of their ice cream… but well, that’s a story for another time.

Growing up, we’re taught that dandelions are all weeds, to be chopped apart and destroyed by the lawnmower.  Not flowers for mum, not even pretty.  I actually love dandelions.

1

Okay, so they’re common.  But you know what else?  That means they’re fruitful and hardy.  Good for them!  I have fond memories of weaving dandelion crowns and necklaces when I was a kid and giving them to my friends or wearing them myself like the faerie princess of the schoolyard.  That’s a trick you cannot (or should not) do with roses – ouch.  Dandelions are the ambassadors of summer and one of the last pieces you whisper goodbye to as autumn drifts around the corner.

In America, many turn up their noses to feeding from nature or herbal remedies, but our common dandelion actually has an incredible history.  According to the University of Maryland Medical Center, the dandelion is an incredibly nutritious plant with ample quantities of vitamins A, B, C, and D.  As if that wasn’t enough, dandelions also provide potassium, iron, and zinc.

Dandelions originated from northern Europe and Asia, although they an now been seen all across the world in the northern temperate zone.  Historically, the spreading of the weed was purposeful to use in medicine, food, and wine.  The Chinese used it to aid in digestion and lactation.  In India and Russia, it had been medically used to treat liver disease and appendicitis.  The name comes from the French, dent de lion which translates to “lion’s tooth”.  The dandelion has it’s roots (haha) all over the world.

And, I won’t lie, I am one of the peculiar adults that will still see a dandelion with its fluffy white head at the end of the season, inhale, and try to blow away all the seeds into the wind and make a wish.

1e40938b62b7cb4a689c948c543213f6
Even Disney princesses like dandelions.

AThis post was written as part of the April A-Z Challenge.  For 26 days in the month of April (excluding Sundays), a post will be written for each letter of the alphabet.  April fifth is “D” and so I chose “Dandelion” as my topic.  Do you have any childhood memories with dandelions or other “weeds”?  How about recipes for dandelion salad?

Click here to see my other A-Z posts.

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

12 thoughts on “D is for Dandelion – #AtoZChallenge

  1. Great post! “Fruitful and hardy” – how true. I recall seeing people harvesting (maybe just picking) dandelion greens for their salads when I was kid. If the going gets tough, it’s good to know we’ll have something to eat!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Rhea. Thanks for visiting my blog. I personally love dandelions AND crayons and am just as disturbed as you by these unnecessary crayon-color name changes. As you know, I posted today on Dandelion Wine — definitely an acquired taste, but a wonderful appetite stimulant and there’s nothing like free ingredients!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Molly, thanks for swinging by! I was actually pretty excited to see someone else thought of dandelions for D. I’ve never had the wine, but I do like the Elton John song!

      Like

    1. That’s so nice to see, especially as winter seems to have dragged on this year. Not going to lie – I’m jealous. Here in New England, we’ve still got a little snow on the ground!

      Like

  3. ….iiiiiiif they are going to get rid of a crayon, shouldn’t it have been frickin’ WHITE? I have literally never used a white crayon. Like, come on.

    I love dandelions. I know dandelion salad is a thing, but I’ve never had it. Can you really just pick your own and make it? I grew up in the city, and we’re generally discouraged from picking things up off the ground and eating them…

    Here through #AtoZChallenge. Enjoy the rest of the alphabet! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I live in the country and we’re discouraged as well. Although as a child we had wild berry bushes, and I’m pretty sure I ate thistles and mint… so who knows?

      As for white… I’ve actually used it. 😛 You’ve gotta get creative and use blue construction paper! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

