G is for Goodbyes – #AtoZChallenge

goodbye

There comes a time in a relationship where you know it is time to say goodbye.  This can be an unhealthy family relationship, a romantic relationship, or a friendship.  Very often, these goodbyes are not mutual, and they are never easy.

“Goodbye” has a sense of finality to it – a sense of foreboding, even.  How often do we say a casual “goodbye”?  Maybe a jovial “see you later” or a friendly “good night”…but how often is it goodbye?  The most common use of this word in my experience comes to the very young, and to the old and ailing.  I often hear my friends entreat their children to “say goodbye and give goodbye hugs!” or something to that accord.  Nearly as frequently, I hear the term used in a context similar to “we’re not certain how much longer he will last – you may wish to come by soon and say your goodbyes.”

I hate goodbyes.  I hate the feeling rolling over your skin, the stoic knowledge of an ending.  They’re often necessary, these ends of relationships, but to me there is always the bittersweet memory of the time before the goodbye, the time when things were still nice and easy and happy.  Even after the physical encounter, it takes a long time for me to stop regretting the ending.

What about you?  How do you say “goodbye”?

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

8 thoughts on “G is for Goodbyes – #AtoZChallenge

  1. Goodbyes are hard when it’s an actual ending of a relationship. I’m usually that person who wants to keep giving more chances, hoping for resolve and reconciliation. When that’s not possible, I still wish the person well. But I have had a lot of experiences that have made it easier for me to keep moving forward when relationships sour or end. I hold onto the knowledge that it’s possible to keep living even without this person in my life.

    *Visiting from A-Z*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Goodbyes always suck, especially if the relationship was important to you. I know I’ve left some jobs where I didn’t really connect to anyone (goodbye was totally cool there). Or, you know, “good luck with life”. 🙂

    I think it’s the worst when you can’t say “goodbye” to a loved one and they pass on. It happened with my grandfather. We didn’t know each other as well, but what I got to know of him made me want to know more. God rest his soul.

    On a lighter note, I hope you enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When the goodbye comes at the end of an unhealthy relationship, it’s more like saying
    “hello” to a brighter future. There’s sadness, sure, but also a sense of making room for new people and experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good question. I don’t usually say a formal “goodbye”… I usually say, “See ya later.” and sometimes “See ya later, alligator, plant ya now and dig ya later.” It’s a fun phrase, but it wasn’t until I said that to a dying friend that I realized it could have a morbid meaning. Thankfully she had a sense of humor!

    Trudy @ Reel Focus
    Food in Film: Grilled Cheese Sandwich

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This reminds me of a quote from the TV show Castle that I’ve always loved! “I don’t like ‘goodbye’. I prefer ‘Until tomorrow’… it sounds more hopeful.” 🙂

      Like

  5. I said goodbye to my first marriage, 20 years ago. It was sad in a way. I had to do what was best for myself and my three sons. I packed his bags, left them on the doorstep and said goodbye to our marriage. He was hurt. But he had been warned.

    Then there are times, you don’t get a chance to say goodbye like when my parents died, my son…and my sister. All unexpectedly. Yeah GOODBYES SUCK.

    If you are interested in genealogy, Stop by for a visit: From 1840 to 1880, GERMANS were the largest group of immigrant

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

