H is for Happiness – #AtoZChallenge

In 2015, I married the love of my life.  It was a long time coming, and a tricky relationship.  It started very rocky, and did not garner any support from my parents for the first few years.  Every day I am grateful for him, and he brings me happiness.

I’m going to get a bit sappy here, so bear with me.

My husband is my best friend.  We were friends long before we started dating.  When we moved in together in 2012, our relationship just solidified.  My parents were never able to support that move, finding it incredibly difficult to accept that their daughter was living with a man outside of marriage.  It took until the end of 2013, early 2014 for them to come around.  In 2013, my now-husband was diagnosed with Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma, stage 3.  It changed everything for my relationship with my parents, but only made the two of us stronger.

In 2014, on St. Patrick’s Day, my husband went through his last bout of chemotherapy.  His positive attitude impressed all the oncology nurses.  Something about my husband?  He rarely stops smiling.  I am a pessimistic nincompoop, but he is sweet and positive about everything.  I asked him once if he was afraid the cancer would kill him, and he just shrugged and said he chose not to think about it.  I never stopped worrying about him.

Later that year, we moved just outside Boston, even further from our friends and family, but closer to work.  About a month later, he proposed.

I don’t have a sappy proposal story here.  He didn’t even get on one knee, but that’s not his style.  When he proposed, we laughed instead of cried.  Our wedding was largely homemade, dependent of assistance of friends and family, and (frankly) cheap.  We smiled, we laughed, we were happy, and we loved it.

Two years later, we are still loving it.  We take care of each other effortlessly.  We talk, we laugh, and we do everything and absolutely nothing together.  Not in a way where we feel dragged about against our true nature, we’re just happy to enjoy each other’s company.  I am happy to see him every day when I get home from work.  In a world where over 800,000 couples divorce annually, my marriage and husband are the greatest joy of my life.

It is something I am grateful for every single day.

10381988_10203090216919436_1804409986626983957_n
A picture from our engagement session.  My brother couldn’t get us to stop laughing.

 

Posted by

I strive to be intelligent, creative, brave, strong, patient, kind, and happy. What more is there in this world?

4 thoughts on “H is for Happiness – #AtoZChallenge

  1. Congratulations. I think people often overlook how important friendship is to a successful marriage. My hubby and I will be married 46 years come September. We’ve had good times and bad, as do most couples, but we’ve always managed to face them together. Wishing you many years of happiness. Find me here. LINK

    Like

Leave a Reply

